The American Public Works Association (APWA) announced its Top 10 Public Works Leaders. The announcement marks the 54th anniversary of the award, which, since its inception in 1960, has identified 540 men and women who reflect the highest standards of professional conduct for public works officials.

The honorees have been recognized for discharging critical responsibilities in connection to the design, construction, maintenance and/or operation of major public works projects or activities in large and small municipalities.

The 2014 Top Ten Award recipients are:

Terry Cox - City Manager/City Engineer/Public Works Director for Harlan, Iowa

David Derrick – Director of Public Works & Engineering for Kissimmee, Fla.

Joseph Fennell - Executive Director, Northwest Suburban Municipal Joint Action Water Agency for Elk Grove Village, Ill.

Ken Grehm, P.E. - Director of Public Works, Placer County DPW for Auburn County, Calif.

L. Tracy Mercer - Public Utilities Director for Clearwater, Fla.

Lisa Ann Rapp, PWLF - Director of Public Works for Lakewood, Calif.

Stephanie Reid - City Engineer for Lincoln City, Ore.

Bonnie Teaford, P.E. - Public Works Director for Burbank, Calif.

Carl J. Weber, P.E. - Director of Public Works for Janesville, Wis.

Daniel Woldesenbet, Ph.D., P.E. –Director, Alameda County Public Works Agency for the County of Alameda, Hayward, Calif.

“Each year, APWA recognizes the Top Ten Leaders, who are exceptional public works professionals that have been selected by a committee of peers for their career-long professionalism, expertise, service and personal contributions to improving the quality of life in the communities they serve. The APWA Top Ten represent the best of the public works profession. They are all to be highly commended, and are extremely worthy of this honor,” said APWA Executive Director Peter B. King.

For information about individual Top Ten Public Works Leader awards presentations, contact APWA Media Relations/Communications Manager, Laura Bynum, M.A. at (202) 218-6736 or