The City on a Cloud Innovation Challenge is providing an opportunity for local governments and application developers to be recognized and honored.

The competition, presented by Amazon Web Services (AWS), recognizes the governments and developers innovating for the benefit of individuals using the AWS cloud. A panel of international experts from organizations driving local government innovation will select seven winners from two award categories: Best Practices and Partners in Innovation.

Three AWS local government projects will be awarded the Best Practices Award, recognizing local governments that have already adopted cloud technology. Each winner will receive $50,000 in AWS credits. Four application developers will be awarded the Partners in Innovation Award for companies or individuals engaged in creating applications that solve local government challenges. Each winner will receive $25,000 in AWS credits.

Entries for both awards must be received no later than May 12. The entries will be judged based on the following criteria: the impact of the solution; likelihood of long-term success; implementation of AWS services and the potential to help other local governments solve similar challenges.

AWS will announce the finalists by the end of May, and the winners will be announced on June 25 at the AWS Government, Education and Nonprofits Symposium in Washington, DC.

Entries will be reviewed and considered by a panel of AWS representatives and international experts including:

  • Pete Reynolds, Executive Director of Innovation and the Cities Lab, Future Cities Catapult.
  • Scott Case, Founding CEO Startup America; Co-Founder and CEO, Main Street Genome.
  • Mayor Christopher Coleman, Mayor St. Paul, Minn. and President of National League of Cities.
  • Joe Dignan,  Founder, Kintechi Ltd and Former Chief Analyst EMEA Public Sector, Ovum.
  • Ed DeSeve, Former Special Advisor to the President for Recovery Implementation.
  • Elliot Gerson, Executive Vice President, the Aspen Institute.
  • Dr. Gerald Gordon, President and CEO, Fairfax County (Virginia) Economic Development Authority.
  • Bill McCluggage, former Chief Information Officer of the Irish Government.
  • Dr. Glenn Ricart, Founder and CTO of US Ignite and member of Internet Hall of Fame.
  • Sonal Shah, Former Deputy Assistant to the President and Director of the first White House Office of Social Innovation and Civic Participation.
  • Bob Sofman, Co-Executive Director, Code for America
  • Dr. Mark Thompson, Strategy Director, Methods Group, and Senior Lecturer in Information Systems, Cambridge Judge Business School, UK.

The contest’s official rules, prize descriptions and applicable territories can be found here.


To get connected and stay up-to-date with similar content from American City & County:
Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on Youtube